La Salle legends advance, SLU Crew falls in The Tournament

Two teams made up of Atlantic 10 legends saw their fates head in different directions in yesterdays “The Basketball Tournament” as a group of Saint Louis alumni known as “Majerus SLU Crew” fell 84-80 at the hands of Houston Live while La Salle All-Stars “20th & Olney” escaped Max’s All-Starts 87-80.

In the early game the SLU Crew consisting of the likes of Mike McCall Jr., Jared Newson, Kwamain Mitchell, Cory Remekun, Jordair Jett, Danny Brown, Brian Conklin, Jermaine Greene, Kevin Brown and Dwyane Evans came up just short against a five-man Houston team led by former San Diego Torero Brandon Johnson who dumped 27 points on the Billikens grads.

Duquesne grad and former NBA baller (currently in the NBA D-League), Mike James, chipped in a 19-point, 11-rebound double-double for Houston Live in the win.

Kwamain Mitchell led the group of former Billikens with 21 points in his 23 minutes of play while former backcourt mate Jordair Jett added 17 of his own points on 7-10 shooting. McCall Jr. and Newsome round out the list of double-digit scorers with 10 of their own while former SLU great Dwayne Evans was one of three players to lead the Crew with six rebounds. Evans played just 12 minutes in the loss, scoring seven points on seven points on 3-4 shooting.

A group of former La Salle players key to the Explorers 2013 Sweet 16 run faired a bit better, escaping a Max’s All Stars team made up of a random college of D1 hoopers, 87-80.

Recent grad Jarelle Wright dumped a game-high 25 points to go with a team-high 12 rebounds in the win. He was joined by ’06 grad Steven Smith who added a 17-point, 10-rebound double-double of his own.

The former backcourt duo of Tyrone Garland and Tyreek Durren added 22 and 14 points, respectively.

With the win 20th & Olney advance to take on the top-seeded Boeheim’s Army featuring a roster full of Syracuse Orange alumni. That game will take place Sunday, July 19 at 4PM ET.


Mat Shelton-Eide has been involved in college athletics since 2007, starting as a co-founder of where he covered the Rams all the way...